Mentor Profile: Lisa

Lisa mentors at the Wade Avenue store, and she also mentors for the Trail Running program.  For Lisa, it’s a family affair! Her husband Scott, daughter Victoria, and even the family pup takes part in Fleet Feet runs. It’s fitting that the family who runs together runs with the Fleet Feet Family!

LisaWhite 1

 

Where are you from?

I spent most of my childhood and young adult life in the suburbs of Boston.

Where do you live now?

North Raleigh

What’s your day job?

I am a special education teacher.

For how long have you been a runner?

7 years

Why did you start?

I started running after a health scare, but I started running longer distances when my daughter asked me to run the Cooper River Bridge 10K with her.

When did you start mentoring and why?

2 years ago, I think.

What is your favorite race distance?

Half marathon

What is your favorite race?

I love the Richmond Marathon/Half Marathon.

What is your favorite training run (speedwork, tempo, hills, Totem Pole, long, easy, etc.)?

I love Totem Pole runs. It is so fun to cheer on my fellow runners as they pass.

What is your running shoe of choice?

I’ve been running in Saucony Guides for a couple years, but my most recent shoe purchase was a pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 19 and I’m loving them.

What is your favorite running accessory—you don’t leave home without it?

My Garmin, and something to keep my hair out of my face.

What is your favorite running weather?

Cool with a slight mist or sunny and cold

What is your favorite local place to run?

I don’t have a favorite place, but I love that Raleigh has such an extensive greenway system to run on.

Do you have a favorite place of all places, near or far, to run?

I love exploring new places to run when I’m on vacation, but I don’t have one favorite place.

Favorite running experience/memory?

Finishing my first marathon (Rock and Roll Raleigh). It is about the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and as I was coming down the chute I was overcome with emotion over what I had just accomplished.

Lisa White 3

The last race you ran?

Kiawah Half Marathon

What was your worst race?

I can’t exactly say it was my worst race, because I won my age group in the 10K 2 years in a row, but the Race 13.1 June race at North Hills is ALWAYS a million degrees and therefore miserable.

If you could run any race, which would it be?

The Boston Marathon, but at my pace I’d have to be 75 years old to qualify.

What is your most frustrating running injury?

A hip/thigh injury I was dealing with last fall. It took a long time to figure out what was causing my pain, and I had to give up my planned full marathon.

How many days a week do you run?

4-5 during a training season

How many miles a week do you run?

I averaged about 20 per week last year when I was actually running and not injured. It’s closer to 30 when I’m at the peak of a training season, and even higher than that if I’m training for a full marathon.

What is your biggest running accomplishment?

Finishing 2 marathons so far

What do you like most about mentoring?

Encouraging newer runners and watching them reach their goals.

Lisa White 2

What is one thing you are still working on improving upon in running?

Consistency

What are your favorite non-running hobbies?

Cooking, Reading

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s